APEX Awards

About the APEX Awards

The Alberta Pharmacy Excellence (APEX) Awards recognize excellence in pharmacy practice in Alberta. Initiated in August 2007, the awards were jointly funded, promoted, and presented by the Alberta College of Pharmacy (ACP) and the Alberta Pharmacists’ Association (RxA) until 2021. RxA is now the independent host of the APEX awards.


Please contact us at rxa@rxa.ca.

2024 APEX Award Recipients

We are thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2024 Alberta Pharmacy Excellence (APEX) Awards!

Our 2024 APEX Awards recipients were nominated by their peers for providing exceptional patient care to Albertans and contributing to the advancement of pharmacy practice. We applaud the efforts of all our award recipients, as well as the efforts of those who took the time to share their story through a nomination letter.

All titles, work locations, and names correspond with the time of nomination or the period in which the individual(s) earned their nomination.

M.J. Huston Pharmacist of Distinction Anil Goorachurn, London Drugs

Award of Excellence Kelsey Slater, Alberta Health Services – Red Deer Regional Hospital

Future of Pharmacy 

W.L. Boddy Pharmacy Team – The Pharmacy Team at Shoppers Drug Mart, Terra Losa Centre

Bowl of Hygeia – Carol Wei, Safeway Pharmacy

Mentorship Award Greg Bendera, Ponoka Rexall

Thank you to the APEX Awards Selection Committee for their time and effort: Mark Percy, Brittany Zelmer, Clark Jantzie, Nella Fehr and Dr. Dalia El-Sayed.

Award Categories

Award of Excellence

This award recognizes individuals who have developed and/or implemented an innovative, original pharmacy program or service, which is significant to their area of practice or have had a patient encounter(s) where they have gone over and beyond for their patient and demonstrated excellence in patient care in their professional practice. For more details, see the terms of reference.

M.J. Huston Pharmacist of Distinction

The M.J. Huston Pharmacist of Distinction award is presented annually to a pharmacist who has demonstrated leadership and advanced the pharmacist profession through a long-time commitment to innovation, continual professional development, and quality patient care. For more details, see the terms of reference.

W.L. Boddy Pharmacy Team Award

This award is presented to a healthcare team (pharmacy staff team or multidisciplinary team that includes one or more pharmacists) in Alberta who, by virtue of their collaboration skills and use of the
pharmacist’s full scope of practice, positively impact the health of individuals in their community. For more details, see the terms of reference.

Future of Pharmacy

The Future of Pharmacy Award is presented to up to three pharmacists per year who exude a passion for pharmacy and offer extraordinary promise to the profession. Nominees will exhibit strong leadership skills and the initiative to become one of the profession’s role models. For more details, see the terms of reference.

Friend of Pharmacy

The Friend of Pharmacy Award is presented to a non-pharmacist/non-pharmacy technician who has contributed significantly to the success of the profession of pharmacy. The recipient will have gone beyond the day-to-day expectations of their work to exemplify excellence in their field of work as well as in their contribution to pharmacy. For more details, see the terms of reference.

The Bowl of Hygeia Award for Outstanding Community Service

The Bowl of Hygeia is awarded annually to a pharmacist who has compiled an outstanding record of community service which, apart from their specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession. For more details, see the terms of reference.

Mentorship Award

The Mentorship Award recognizes excellence among mentors in the pharmacy profession. The recipient of this award has shown extraordinary commitment throughout their career in guiding, supporting and promoting the training and career development of others and has had a significant positive impact on their mentee’s careers. This award is based on the training experiences and success of the nominee’s mentees. For more details, see the terms of reference.