Awards and Recognition

Pharmacists are the most accessible healthcare practitioner located in almost every community in Alberta. Pharmacists provide primary care, participate in public health and provide essential health services to all Albertans. Alberta Pharmacists are part of thousands of good news stories occurring every day that we do not hear about enough. These happen in community pharmacies, clinics, hospitals, long term care settings, research facilities, policy rooms and even in the homes of Albertans.

Recognizing and celebrating the positive impacts that pharmacists make every day is a source of pride, purpose and engagement.

The Bowl of Hygeia Award for Outstanding Community Service

The Bowl of Hygeia is awarded annually to an Alberta pharmacist who has compiled an outstanding record of community service which, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession.

Nominations are now open! Click here to download the nomination package.

RxA ‘s Advancing the Profession Scholarship

The Alberta Pharmacists’ Association (RxA) in partnership with TD Insurance and the Canadian Pharmacists Benefits Association will award up to two scholarships annually, as well as registration to one of RxA’s two professional development conferences to a candidate(s) who demonstrate the leadership skills and professional insight to advance pharmacy practice in Alberta.

Applications are now being accepted. Click here to download the application package.

The APEX Awards 

We are thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2020 Alberta Pharmacy Excellence (APEX) Awards! Initiated in 2007 and jointly presented by the Alberta Pharmacists’ Association (RxA) and the Alberta College of Pharmacy the APEX Awards recognize excellence in pharmacy practice in Alberta.

Our 2020 APEX Awards recipients were nominated by their peers for providing exceptional patient care to Albertans and contributing to the advancement of pharmacy practice. We applaud the efforts of all our award recipients, as well as the efforts of those who took the time to share their story through a nomination letter.

2020 APEX Awards recipients

All titles, work locations, and names correspond with the time of nomination or the period in which the individual(s) earned their nomination.

Award of Excellence

Taciana Pereira, Program Performance and Informatics Director, Alberta Health Services

M.J. Huston Pharmacist of Distinction

Jenny Wichart, Clinical Practice Leader, Alberta Health Services

W.L. Boddy Pharmacy Team

Mint Health + Drugs Franklin Station

  • Andrew Noh, Pharmacy Manager
  • Lauren Mark, Pharmacist
  • Karyann Dorn, Pharmacy Technician
  • Eva Cui, Pharmacy Student
  • Biena Puthenpurackal, Pharmacy Assistant

Future of Pharmacy