Board of Directors

2017/2018 Board of Directors
Rxa2017 002



RxA takes this opportunity to recognize your 2017/2018 RxA Board of Directors. This group consists of hard-working, knowledgeable and experienced volunteers who will provide RxA with its mandate for the fiscal year.

Led by President Mark Elderkin, the Board of Directors is comprised of nine representatives, including eight Alberta pharmacists and one student representative. The Board also includes one Ex Officio Board Member (CPhA) Neil Cameron 

Members that wish to bring forward comments, issues or questions for discussion at future RxA board meetings, please email

Mark Elderkin, President

Jody Shkrobot, Past President 
Humirah Sultani, President-Elect
Mark Percy, Secretary-Treasurer
Ali Damani, Board Member

Kit Poon,  Board Member (resigned May 4, 2018)

Todd Prochnau, Board Member

Bruce Winston, Board Member
Sean Hanson, Student Board Member

Neil Cameron, Ex Officio 



Mark Elderkin, President

After graduating from the University of Saskatchewan pharmacy program in 2000, Mark cultivated his career with Calgary Co-op starting as a staff pharmacist, growing into his current role as Pharmacy Operations Manager in 2011. Mark has enjoyed seeing the changes in our profession over the last few years, and is excited to work with the Board to further promote and enhance pharmacists’ scope of practice in Alberta. 


Jody Shkrobot, Past President

Over his career, Jody has practiced in hospital, community, centralized dispensary and administrative settings. Currently, Jody is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Alberta. In addition, Jody and his wife operate a small dispensary practice in St. Albert. Jody has been a strong advocate for pharmacists and is a change agent as demonstrated by his past involvement with the Canadian Pharmacists Association, where he served a term as President. Jody understands both the professional and the business aspects of pharmacy. He is excited about the opportunities that Albertans have to access and utilize the skills of a pharmacist to improve their health.


Humirah Sultani, President-Elect

Although she is only in her second year of practice, Humirah has already proven she is a leader in the profession of pharmacy in Alberta. She completed her hospital pharmacy residency in oncology at the Tom Baker Cancer Centre in Calgary where she continues to work. She is currently pursuing her Additional Prescribing Authorization, and has a few projects on the go. Humirah is collaborating with a health care team from the Alberta Childrens' Hospital to develop a mobile application to support medication and symptom management in pediatric oncology patients. She is also working with young Afghan professionals from her community to start up a registered charity. Most of all, Humirah hopes that she can maintain a connection with new graduates and students in order to support and mentor them as they enter the profession and practice to their fullest scope. 



Mark Percy, Secretary-Treasurer

Mark graduated from the University of Alberta in 2009 and went on to complete his hospital residency in 2010 with Alberta Health Services (Calgary). While working at the Foothills Medical Centre his practice focus was internal medicine, quality improvement research, and multidisciplinary education. In 2014 Mark became the managing partner of an independent pharmacy in Calgary with outreach clinical work involving inner city health, addictions, and complex chronic diseases (Endocrine, Respirology, and Rheumatology). It is his passion to find novel ways to integrate pharmacists into underserved populations to achieve shared outcomes.


Ali Damani, Board Member

Ali has had the opportunity to work at all levels of community pharmacy which has given him the insight and experience for his current role as the Vice President of Operations with Medicentres Family Care Clinics. Ali sees the importance of fostering relationships within the position and is actively involved in the University of Alberta’s Pharmacy Alumni Association.


Todd Prochnau, Board Member

Todd graduated from the University of Alberta in 2010 and was the recipient of CPhA’s Dean George A. Burbidge Award. Shortly after, he became the pharmacist and associate owner of Shoppers Drug Mart in Sylvan Lake. Achieving both his authorization to administer drugs by injection and additional prescribing authorization, Todd is continually expanding his scope of practice to best serve his patients. He also has extended his knowledge in tobacco reduction and runs a pharmacist-led smoking cessation clinic out of his pharmacy. In his spare time, Todd serves as a Board of Director for the Sylvan Lake & Area Community Partners Association.


Bruce Winston, Board Member

As a pharmacist and pharmacy owner in Alberta for over 30 years, Bruce has a deep personal commitment to the practice of pharmacy. This dedication was recognized when he was the co-recipient for the W.L. Boddy Pharmacy of the Year Award, for creating a multi-disciplinary healthcare delivery team at Sandstone Pharmacies, Simons Valley.


Along with his day-to-day role as president of Sandstone Pharmacies, he is also a member of the National Advisory Board for McKesson's IDA/Guardian banner pharmacies. As well, Bruce sits on the Dean's Advisory Council for the U of A Faculty of Pharmacy, and is a the Past Chair of the Bow Valley College Pharmacy Technician Advisory Committee. Outside of pharmacy he is a member on the board of the Bertha Gold Jewish Seniors Residence.


Neil Cameron, Ex Officio Board Member (CPhA)

Neil is a second generation pharmacist and pharmacy owner. He graduated from the University of Saskatchewan in 1991 and has practiced in Alberta since graduation. He is a Past President of the Alberta Pharmacists’ Association and Value Drug Mart Associates. Neil has volunteered his time to serve on a Budget Challenge Panel for Alberta Treasury Board and Finance, plus volunteers for other provincial and local community Not For Profit Organizations. Neil completed the ICD-Rotman Directors Education Program to obtain his ICD.D designation in 2016.


Sean Hanson, Student Board Member

Sean is a student in his third year of the Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy program at the University of Alberta and serves as the President of the Alberta Pharmacy Students' Association. Sean spends his summers by working at Pharmasave locations in Medicine Hat and Redcliff. He is very optimistic and excited about the future of the profession and hopes to practice to full scope upon graduation.